Updated: 8:29 PM UTC, Jul 16, 2017

The Symbolism of the Flag of the United Kingdom

The flag of the United Kingdom, also known as  the Union Jack, symbolizes 3 of the 4 countries of which it is composed: Scotland, England, Wales, and Northern Ireland. In fact, it is composed of a juxtaposition of the flags of Scotland, England, and St Patrick’s Cross, the patron saint of Ireland.

One must not confuse the United Kingdom with Great Britain, which is an island, composed of these same countries, with the exception of Northern Ireland.

You Might Also Like

Write a comment...
awesome comments!